Sportsmith 1000 banner
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How long do your spin classes last?

1. Default How long do your spin classes last?

I have been a cycling instructor for four years. I was given a one hour time slot to teach my class, so with warm up and cool down, I usually go around 55 minutes. Another instructor at the same facility has classes that last 45 minutes. The head of the department has asked us to come up with a consistent length for our classes. The members want 55 minutes. How long do most spin classes usually last? Are there advantages to classes being a certain length? I figure if the members want a longer class, and I'm given the time frame, I'm going to take advantage of it. Any thoughts and comments would be appreciated! Thanks!

2. Default

Quote Originally Posted by kteach View Post
    I have been a cycling instructor for four years. I was given a one hour time slot to teach my class, so with warm up and cool down, I usually go around 55 minutes. Another instructor at the same facility has classes that last 45 minutes. The head of the department has asked us to come up with a consistent length for our classes. The members want 55 minutes. How long do most spin classes usually last? Are there advantages to classes being a certain length? I figure if the members want a longer class, and I'm given the time frame, I'm going to take advantage of it. Any thoughts and comments would be appreciated! Thanks!
    I think of class times as very general -
    Early morning classes: 45 minutes - get 'em in, work 'em, get 'em out. Fast!
    Lunch hour classes: 30-40 minutes - as above, but faster.
    Evening classes, day, weekend - anywhere from 45 minutes up to 90 minutes.