Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weight Loss

1. Default Weight Loss

This is more of a personal thing other than a topic concerning classes or participants.

I'm a male racing cyclist, 46 years of age, have maintaned my body weight between 170-175 for years now. I've been an instructor for 3 years and in the past year have been able to maintain my weight within 168-173. When I was racing 10-15 years ago, my body weight was 165. Since then I've put on upper body mass (muscle) with maybe 2-3 lbs actual fat.

Last racing season I found my climbing to be mid to tail end of the pack. I chalked it up to getting up in age but have recently revisited my diet, my workouts in the off season and my power to weight ratio. As far as my diet is concerned, hey, we could all ease up on the breads/carbs (i.e. beer) and snacks, but my wife and I came to an agreement of sorts. We decided to cut out most of the breads, all of the snacks, limit ourselves to one glass of wine with dinner and no beer. Work in the complex carbs in limited amounts, increase lean protiens and just be sensible about the caloric intake overall.

Here's what I'm trying to accomplish. I currently weigh in at 168 lbs. I want to loose 5% of my total body weight over the next 4-5 months. Sounds easy right? Well, with the holiday season upon us, we will have to be smart about the choices available to use at the family dinners. If I can reduce my weight by the intended goal while intensifying my weight workouts to increase my power, I'm thinking I will be able to hang with the big guys and see what happens. I know i'll be loosing some upper body mass which is ok.

I teach classes 3 days a week and work out on the same days my lower body and core strength. We try to ride at lease once outside throught the winter on the weekends and hit the fluid trainer regularly.

So, your thoughts, ideas, concerns, personal stories and experiences are welcome.

Please discuss.

Lizardbiker Guest

Good luck!