Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Base gear and Range Drill

1. Default Base gear and Range Drill

I'm curious if anyone uses a drill during class that helps riders find their 'base' gear and range of gears on the Keiser bikes. Thanks for any tips!

In my classes (I am a student, not an instructor) I use a gear where there is light resistance at about 80-90 rpm. I personally use gear 13 for my base gear and go up from there. I max out at about gear 21 and 50 rpm. I do not go over gear 21 typically as I do not want bad knees in the future. I will be honest. #chickenlegs_for_a_guy ..

Angien, it would depend on what you are asking of them. Are you asking for a base gear that would resemble a flat, as edmscan noted or a base gear to climb. Also, it's not about being in a particular gear, what do you want them to feel? edmscan is at gear 13 but that may have me feeling really challenged.

Can you elucidate?
    Cycle Happy!
    EuroD
    Cycle Instructor Emeritus
    Star 3 Spinning Instructor
    Schwinn Certified Cycle Instructor
    AFAA Primary Certification
    Spotify

4. Default

I have been teaching on the Keiser M3 bikes since 2009 (?).

I don't use base gears, just base power.

I will do a power test at the beginning of the class (average power over 4-5 mins of best effort) and then use that to guide the participants through the intervals and drills. They will either do higher than base or lower, depending on what I want them to do. Participant's base will vary depending on a number of factors, not the least of which is which bike they are on for that class.

I don't always do a power test to establish a base. On those classes it is all about how they feel.