Thread: Odometer

Default Odometer

I'm still learning about the Keiser M3 Computer. Can you tell me if the Trip is measured in miles? Should I focus more on Watts rather than the odometer? Thanks!
    Spinning Day
    "Life is Good, Ride on"

The "odometer" on the Keiser M3 registers not miles or km but simply the number of pedal revolutions divided by 200. There's more about this in the thread "Keiser Bike Distance" in this forum section. You might try this experiment: ride in gear 1 at around 80 rpm, count 200 revolutions and watch the "odometer" go up by 1.0. You'll feel you haven't done any work at all, and the watts reading will reflect that. Then do the same up in maybe gear 14. You will feel you have worked a lot harder, but the "odometer" will still go up only 1.0. The watts will be up a lot more.

Thank you! That helps!
    Spinning Day
    "Life is Good, Ride on"

New instructor here using Keisers. Students ask me about the odometer. I tell them that miles on an indoor bike is a meaningless number. Focus should be on the other parameters: RPM, Watts, HR....along with perceived exertion level.

5. Default

New instructor here using Keisers. Students ask me about the odometer. I tell them that miles on an indoor bike is a meaningless number. Focus should be on the other parameters: RPM, Watts, HR....along with perceived exertion level.
    But it is not 'miles'. It is not any distance that is indicative of any type of effort.
    Work and train smart, not hard. But be smart enough to know that sometimes it does take hard work to accomplish your goals.

Follow me on Twitter

what are your watt and rpm averages for your classes?

The new M3i apparently does have Miles and Km distance options. This is shown as USA and Euro on the display after adjusting it as needed. It defaults to miles.