PDA

View Full Version : Help! My knees hurt!

Slanders
07-14-2005, 08:28 AM
I'm looking to find out if anyone knows what causes pain in the area right above the knee cap on the leg. I'm looking for information about how to fix it, both medically and spinningly. Is there something wrong with my bike or body position when I spin? What do you do for pain like this to get it to heal? Thanks for any information you can give me. I've been spinning for 2 years and it's something that seemed to sneak up on me. Now I'm having problems walking stairs.

Sheryl

spinguru
07-14-2005, 08:47 AM
Before you attempt to fix your knee problems on a forum or in the spin room, please do yourself a huge favor and have your pain evaluated by a sports medicine doctor. I know it's something we hate to do, but your pain could be caused by something as simple as an adjustment in your bike seat height to something more serious. If you did not injure yourself in a specific accident, you could have a wear and tear issue going on, which can be helped by a good physical therapist. The key to getting better is to understand exactly what the problem you're dealing with is.

If, however, you're sure it's a bike-related problem, you could have your bike fit checked out by someone you trust to know what they're doing.

You have my sympathy -- I understand your pain, literally. I have a serious wear and tear problem in my right knee -- I'm down to bone on bone. Arthroscopic surgery to clean up the knee, physical therapy and careful attention to my form on the bike and off have given me a lot of relief, but I live with pain ranging from mild discomfort to full blown need something for this right now pain. Eventually, I'll need to have my knee replaced, but I'm in my mid-forties and really feel like I'm too young yet for that.

Good luck -- I hope you find out what's going on and get some relief.

GeoLes
01-13-2006, 02:14 PM
Hi.