PDA

View Full Version : Please Help

spinningclara
02-11-2006, 01:43 PM
Hi guys, Im a very new instructor and just wondering if anyone else uses the kind of bikes my club has. I see you guys talk alot about RPM's but our bikes have this little red knob with a + and - sign the more you turn it to the + side the more resistance you get.

SO HOW WOULD YOU CUE HOW MUCH RESISTANCE THEY SHOULD PUT - I can't really say (30 turns to the + lol)

Any help would be appreciated.

jjaime213
02-11-2006, 04:26 PM
Every student feels resitance different so there is no amount of resitance that you should recommend putting as a exact number. So just say things as high resistance or a resistance that allows you to mantain a pace similar than mine. If you say like 2 turs to the + maybe some one that does not have the strength in tendons and muscles to make that effort and just needs to take one turn. So the conclusion is that there is not a recommended exact amount of resistance that you should tell your students to put as individually they can take different amounts of resistances at the same pace.

Alaricnj
02-11-2006, 08:59 PM
Every student feels resitance different so there is no amount of resitance that you should recommend putting as a exact number. So just say things as high resistance or a resistance that allows you to mantain a pace similar than mine. If you say like 2 turs to the + maybe some one that does not have the strength in tendons and muscles to make that effort and just needs to take one turn. So the conclusion is that there is not a recommended exact amount of resistance that you should tell your students to put as individually they can take different amounts of resistances at the same pace.

Jamie,

I agree with you 100% that we shouldn’t describe resistance loading as “1 or 2 full turns on the resistance knob”. However I think we can still use a scale reference (i.e. 1-10).