PDA

View Full Version : Tabata spinning

Laryn41
01-14-2015, 02:17 PM
Hi,
is tababta spinning legit as a part of a regular cycle class?

Deirdre
01-21-2015, 04:34 PM
I've been doing tabata intervals in my IC classes for about 5 years. I would never do an entire class of tabatas - one should not be able to and if you can then you are missing the point.

Laryn41
01-25-2015, 12:50 PM
Agreed! I usually only do one set! Thank you

econgirl
03-01-2015, 05:24 AM
Hi guys
I have started to integrate tabata into my spinning, usually at the end - a set of 8 - is this too many? A lot of studies etc. seem to use the 4minute/8 rounds protocol but perhaps in a spinning context less might be more?

CycleGuy
03-01-2015, 06:31 PM
Excellent - the best (only!) place to integrate Tabata intervals would be at the end of a class/workout.

The original protocol for Tabata intervals, as originally presented in research, is 8 sets of 20 secs extreme (maximum) effort followed by 10 secs rest. That totals 4 minutes for the intervals. Completion of 8 sets indicated a failure to work hard enough. So…

There are classes (cycle, step, boot camp, etc.) that use multiple sets of 'Tabata' intervals. They are, in my opinion, not Tabata, but merely Tabata-styled intervals - because they follow the 20/10 split.

Vivienne
03-02-2015, 05:59 AM
What CycleGuy said.

Only one study studied the 4 min/set of 8 round and became so mirepresented......the one by Izumi Tabata. It wasn't designed to gussy up group ex. classes but to test a hypothesis on HIIT vs. steady state training.

I use tabata-lite, tabata-esque, tabata-timing and poseur tabata to describe what I offer in class, even if it's only one round.......anything else isn't Tabata, they're high intensity rounds with a short psychological break.

Vivienne

econgirl
03-02-2015, 06:15 AM
Excellent - thanks for the advice guys!

Speedy
03-03-2015, 06:05 AM