PDA

View Full Version : RPM Format

williska
11-05-2012, 12:37 PM
I am a new RPM instructor and I am just curious, do most of you teach the set RPM class time of 50(ish) minutes, or do you modify it to be an hour long? I know that there is an hour long format where you add an extra track 3 and 6?

gym_rat
11-06-2012, 07:27 AM
I always teach the 60 min format, but I am fortunate that my RPM classes do not have another class after them. Because adding the two additional tracks does make the class go right to 60 mins. if not a bit over. So it would be difficult if I had another class waiting to come in.. I personally find the 45 min class (standard class) to short. I have had many riders comment to me, that they prefer my class because of the extra tracks.

williska
11-06-2012, 02:39 PM
Thanks for your response gym_rat. I think it would be too short as well.

gym_rat
02-25-2013, 12:45 PM
I have always taught the 60 min format, the 45 just seems too short. If you use some of the tracks for older releases for your extra 2 tracks, you can get the class a few mins under 60, which for me is a must. I do have another class coming in after me so I have to try to allow a few mins for people to get out and come in. Lots of the older RPM releases have shorter tracks, so I just try and be mindful of my playlist time.

Newmie
07-03-2013, 07:12 PM
HI there! I have been an RPM instructor for two years. I have a hard time as well so I usually try to add extra songs depending on the how much time I have after I have my playlist (tracks 1-9) done. There are combos of music where you can add an extra hill, interval or both.

Dionisios
07-20-2013, 09:16 PM
I sometimes double up on the intervals, hills, etc. during the ride, in order to stretch the class to 60 minutes. You have to put in a little extra prep time to make sure that it "flows", but it's no biggie.

Newmie
07-28-2013, 01:14 PM