PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Hamstring & Knee Pain on Keiser M3

Cyclegirl
08-17-2011, 07:26 AM
Our facility is considering the Keiser M3 so I have been to another gym for the last several weeks riding the Keiser. Initially I thought they were the greatest things ever. Unfortunately I find that I cannot get the set up correct and am consequently having hamstring and knee pain. I have very long legs and when I get my seat set up the handlebars and either too low or too far away. I am really stretched out when set up so I tried to bring my seat forward a bit and then I have knee pain. I have been teaching for over 10 years and have never had this problem before.

Also I was wondering if anyone else has a problem finding the right "gear" when out of the saddle? I seem to have to add an unusual amount of gear to find a smooth pedal stroke out of the saddle but then it is almost too heavy to maintain.

Thanks for any comments or helpful hints you could pass on. I am just worried that our members will also have some of these issues and I don't want to get them injured.

Shannan:cool:

EuroD
08-17-2011, 12:12 PM
Shannan, were you bike fitted by the instructor at the facility or are you doing it yourself? You may want an instructor to have a look to see if adjustments can be made.

One thing to keep in mind as well is that the new M3s will have fore/aft on the handlebars, so you may want to take that piece of information to your club.

Cyclegirl
08-17-2011, 04:49 PM
At first I set myself up but since then I have had two other instructors set me up as well. They aren't happy with the way they set me up either.:(

I contacted Precision about the fore/aft position on the handlebars and their response was,

"We are currently working on updating the
handle bars but do not have a date when those will be in production.
I do know that we will be selling retro fit kits when they do come
out. This means that you can purchase a bike now and if you fit on