Head1500
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coaching Switchbacks in Spin Class

Default Coaching Switchbacks in Spin Class

I was all flustered about where to put this thread, there's so many dang sub-topics anymore!! (Which IMO limits the potential audience of your thread 'cuz who has time to peruse all the sub-topics)? So I chose Spinning because dangit, I'm a Spinning instructor and Spinning MI! Hopefully the powers that be will keep it here... Non "Spinning" instructors always come here to peek and can also benefit from this post.

This subject came from a request after Patricks post in the profiles section regarding his 2-hour class. But since this is not a profile, it's a coaching suggestion, I elected not to keep it in the profile section.

Anyways, to the point, Jennifer!

I was talking to Patrick about coaching switchbacks via PM, and he liked my answer so much he wanted me to post it for you all. I have posted tips on switchbacks several times in the past, but now I have some new insight to add to past suggestions.

As many of you know, I ride every year in France and Italy, including many famous cols with a lot of switchbacks, and I love to do them in my classes. I just got back from France on one of my bicycle tours in the Alpes, and I got a chance to climb ADH a few days before my clients arrived ('cuz I knew the day they got to ride it i would be supporting them in the van). As I was going up, I was thinking about swtichbacks in Spinning and how I teach them.

Typically, in my classes I coach to get out of the saddle as we go around the switchback, increasing the resistance from slightly to quite a bit. The "switchback" can last anywhere from 15 - 60 seconds. Standing up at this point is mostly out of convention and with the intent on keeping the class design simple. Also, it helps break up the ride, and if desired, you can count the # of switchbacks to simulate ADH (21 sb) or another ride (say, 10 sb).