PDA

View Full Version : Neuro Linguistic Programming

rick316
04-23-2006, 01:54 PM
Does anyone study NLP? Any opinions....

JoyofSpin
04-23-2006, 04:21 PM
Don't study it although now that I just looked at it - think I should give it a go for my daughter with OCD. Let me know what you decide. - Joy

rick316
04-23-2006, 04:27 PM
I believe in it's abilities in a big way.I don't know enough about it but it's definately on my list of topics to study.Imagine planting a trigger in every class you teach that enables them to achieve even more than they dream possible....sounds good yeah?

JFK
04-23-2006, 05:48 PM
Well, of course it sounds good....in your explorations of the topic, you might want to take in the skeptics' views as well:

http://skepdic.com/neurolin.html
(http://skepdic.com/neurolin.html)

and from Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neuro-linguistic_programming

I'm personally skeptical of things that evade review by others. But, hey, I'm a scientist-in-training, so that's to be expected. :)

Robert
04-24-2006, 03:37 AM
Rick, did you see Derren Brown over the weekend? He implanted subliminal messages in an advert and showed it in a local cinema before the main feature. The idea was to stop those in cinema from remembering the plot of the film.

When interviewing those coming out of the cinema, there were a lot of blank faces when asked to say what the film was about.

I don't know what he did (they couldn't show it because it's illegal) but it worked!

veespin
04-24-2006, 06:06 AM
I'm personally skeptical of things that evade review by others.

So you're saying I should hold off on the purchase of the foil hat and the crop circle essence, then??

Vivienne

JFK
04-24-2006, 08:03 AM
Well, if the foil hat is very chic, and the crop circle essence smells nice, I see no reason to hold off...

rick316
04-24-2006, 09:04 AM