PDA

View Full Version : Training right

raptor
01-06-2006, 12:23 AM
No, this isn't about Carmichael Training Systems, but I think Mr. C would agree. The linked article is a semi-technical discussion about periodization and getting the most out of your cycling training.

http://www.biketechreview.com/performance/base.htm

I've been leaning intuitively toward this approach for many months now. When I do what I call an endurance ride, I push it towards the upper regions of the aerobic zone.

Questions I have to mull over and eventually stumble onto the answers to (sorry about the grammar):

How does this "MP20" approach relate to non-cyclists... like a kickbox fanatic or a runner?

What is the required level of fitness to work at these higher aerobic intensities? I mean, ANYONE can "work as hard as you can for 20 minutes," at least theoretically.

What are my riders missing if I always push them to these higher efforts? Based on the article, not much, at least physiologically.

Lynn

Patrick
01-06-2006, 07:57 AM
No, this isn't about Carmichael Training Systems, but I think Mr. C would agree. The linked article is a semi-technical discussion about periodization and getting the most out of your cycling training.

http://www.biketechreview.com/performance/base.htm

I've been leaning intuitively toward this approach for many months now. When I do what I call an endurance ride, I push it towards the upper regions of the aerobic zone.

Questions I have to mull over and eventually stumble onto the answers to (sorry about the grammar):

How does this "MP20" approach relate to non-cyclists... like a kickbox fanatic or a runner?

What is the required level of fitness to work at these higher aerobic intensities? I mean, ANYONE can "work as hard as you can for 20 minutes," at least theoretically.

What are my riders missing if I always push them to these higher efforts? Based on the article, not much, at least physiologically.

Lynn

Lynn,