PDA

View Full Version : Spinning with sciatica

myriadgreen
09-20-2011, 10:29 AM
Hi!
One of the ladies who comes to spinning classes at the gym has told me she has sciatica. I know little about it, apart from it being pain from the back down the leg, and caused by the sciatic nerve rubbing against intervertabral discs. (I think).
She's a keen participant and like all keeners does not want to stop doing what she loves. Can she still ride?

Also, does anyone know any stretches or exercises which help relieve the pain and prevent further flare ups? I know she has gone to the doctors, but they tend to look at prescriptions as opposed to taking active measures to solve problems!

Thanks gang!

MoniqueSmith
09-20-2011, 12:24 PM
Hi There,
My name is Monique. I am a spinning instructor and also suffer from sciatica. It took me a few years to get to the point where I now teach about 10 classes per week. Indoor cycling is the best exercise for someone with this type of condition. What you should make sure is that your clients bike set up is accurate.